I hunt for the golden stag

http://www.maamatimanush.tv/articles.php?aid=725
http://www.maamatimanush.tv/articles.php?aid=725

Blogging is all about friends to me. One of my friends, Debbie asked me today, to say something about Rabindranath Tagore, our most celebrated and closest to heart person..What might I tell about this extraordinary Nobel prize winner? Outside our continent, he is known as a poet, very spiritual one. But through his long life he did everything in creative fields. He is our first succeed short-story writer, novel writer, song writer, producer and director of dance-drama-cinemas, actor, singer, founder of two very different and famous universities, even the first co-operative founder in rural areas and an activist! And what I love most, his modern paintings in his last age.

Whatever I say, is less. He was inspired both by East and West, and that honed his great talent. The great man renounced his Knighthood, in response to the Jallianwala Bagh massacre in 1919.

I believe, any translation make a writing weak, but how could I express them to my friends in Bangla? I was too busy today, coudn’t gather enough links. Then tried a lot to translate a poem, from memory, a lovely one, “Ek Gaye”, very coincidentally it resembles to Edgar Allan Poe’s  “Annabel lee”. But I failed to make the feelings. So, there is a short piece, translated by Poem hunter.

 “I hunt for the golden stag.
You may smile, my friends, but I
pursue the vision that eludes me.
I run across hills and dales, I wander
through nameless lands, because I am
hunting for the golden stag.
You come and buy in the market
and go back to your homes laden with
goods, but the spell of the homeless
winds has touched me I know not when
and where.
I have no care in my heart; all my
belongings I have left far behind me.
I run across hills and dales, I wander
through nameless lands–because I am
hunting for the golden stag.”

 (Now, I can say some from my opinion. Here’s a story of the golden stag. As I know, in Ramayana, when Lord Rama, along with his wife Sita and brother Lakshmana, were in exile, Ravana made a magical maze. Ram saw a golden stag and ran after it to catch it..He was so blind to catch it that, when Sita was being taken away, and Lakshmana also searching him, he couldn’t know a bit…I guess, thats the golden stag among our souls also, we so blindly hunt for it, that we can see nothing else! )

My dear debbie, these links are for you, hope you’d check’m out, and love him as we do..and for videos, youtube is always there 🙂 You know, whether its happy or sad or problem time, we sing his songs, by heart, whispering or loud…Our recent and another celebrated novelist and his very fan Humayun Ahmed once said true, “Rabindranath made us a huge fuss, he’s written every impression and expression of our hearts, we just sing them what new would we write?”

Okay, here you go 🙂

Poems:

http://www.poemhunter.com/rabindranath-tagore/poems/page-2/?a=a&l=1&y= http://www.schoolofwisdom.com/history/teachers/rabindranath-tagore/gitanjali/

Short stories:

http://www.readbookonline.net/stories/tagore/134/

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/33525/33525-h/33525-h.htm

Biography:

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/22217/22217-h/22217-h.htm

PDFs:

http://www.poemhunter.com/i/ebooks/pdf/rabindranath_tagore_2012_10.pdf http://www.kaurab.com/english/bengali_poetry/rabindranath3.pdf http://www.acsa.net.au/brochures/Tagore%20Poems.pdf http://www.iitg.ernet.in/scifac/krishna/public_html/hs_405/tutorials/2013%20assignments/Rabindranath%20Tagore.pdf

Paintings:

http://indiapicks.com/Indianart/Main/R_Tagore_Gallery.htm http://www.ngmaindia.gov.in/sh-rabindranath.asp http://www.calcuttaweb.com/about/people/rabindranath-tagore/tagore-paintings/ http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/r/rabindranath-tagore-poet-and-painter/

7 thoughts on “I hunt for the golden stag

  1. Oh, Dear Sadia – I am really honoured and touched that you should have made all of these links for me.
    that is really so beautiful.
    i will check out the links on the weekend.
    in the meantime I just saw your link to the science writers blog – congratulations for that too.

    the Golden Stag poem is beautiful.
    your country is blessed to have Rabindranath Tagore. His very name rings of poetry, right?
    <>
    debbie

    Like

  2. i just read about this Sadia, :: In just 90 seconds, an eight-storey sweatshop in Bangladesh collapsed. 1,134 people died. Some survivors sawed through their own limbs to escape. Out of the horror, the UN set up a ground-breaking compensation and corporate accountability scheme. Incredibly, it’s working — but survivors need our help to get one complicit company to pay up.

    Billion-dollar Italian clothing giant Benetton refuses to compensate the victims who made their clothes. It’s the only major global brand with undisputed links that hasn’t contributed. So far, they’re ignoring survivors and will get away with it unless it impacts their reputation. ::

    I just signed a petition calling on Benetton to compensate the victims. It seems all the more real, now I know you.
    Debbie

    Like

  3. Debbie, thanks.

    Yes, I still remember “Rana Plaza” tragedy in 2013. Each and every person of our country cried these days. we cry still. You cant believe, we had no modern instrument to remove the ruins and rescue the survivors. normal people, without any training, go to the earth to rescue them. medical students, people voluntarily worked day and night..but couldn’t make it all! unity was very weak word for all, we all cried when after two day’s hard try, a lady died there..

    debbie, I don’t like to say bad things about my country, but, truth is truth..what if all the big companies pay the amount? they only know their profit. but if they give, our greedy political parties will eat it all! The building, a totally unplanned, without permission, who was the owner of it? a political goon! he is now, probably out of the country!! no justice happened!!

    Like

  4. I remember when it happened to, Sadia.
    So I was so surprised to receive a mail about a petition to get Benneton to give compensation. Still! After so long!
    t is not just your country – every country faces these tragedies all in the name of ‘money’ – but some countries, poorer countries like yours – sometimes the tradegies are worse.
    so sad. sorry hope to not have upset you, dear Sadia.
    Debbie

    Like

  5. I am not upset, we are just angry…a massacre is going on here right now :/ we work hard for the prosperity of the nation, and the politics just ruin it! but I am very hopeful anyway 🙂

    Like

  6. I understand. It is fantastic that you are here on wordpress blogging to share more about your homeland with the world. It is not a country which receives much media coverage.
    Nearly the weekend – and I can pour through all of those Rabindranath Tagore sites!
    Debbie

    Like

  7. hmm..Debbie, I did a very fast search of the links, so they might be not very good. but hope you’ll enjoy Rabindranath as we do 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

